

## **State of Rhode Island Judiciary**

## **Supreme Court – Clerk's Office**

Licht Judicial Complex 250 Benefit Street Providence, RI 02903

## **Rule 2(a) Notarized Affidavit Instructions**

Applicants seeking to take the Rhode Island Bar Examination pursuant to Article II, Rule 2(a) of the Supreme Court Rules for Admission of Attorneys and Others to Practice Law are required to submit a Notarized Affidavit outlining specifically the work that the applicant is relying upon to meet the Rule 2(a) practice or teaching of law requirement. **Accordingly, do not list work prior to the date you were admitted to practice law in any jurisdiction.** Please also refer to Board of Bar Examiners Rules of Practice Governing Admission on Examination and by Transferred Unform Bar Examination Score Rule 4(b)(i)(2).

The Notarized Affidavit should, at a minimum, contain the following information.

- 1. Name and address of each employer including address of office and physical location where you work, if different.
- 2. Exact time frame for each position including month, date, and year (i.e., March 1, 2013 to July 30, 2014).
- 3. Total amount of time worked for each employer (i.e., 3 years, 3 months, 5 days).
- 4. For positions practicing law, include for each position:
  - a. Job title (i.e., associate, partner, of counsel);
  - b. List specific duties in detail;
  - c. Indicate whether full or part-time work;
  - d. Indicate whether the position was a legal position and note whether a license to practice law in the jurisdiction or any jurisdiction was required for the position; and
  - e. If you are relying upon time employed in a jurisdiction where you were not licensed to practice law, please describe the work in detail and how the practice of law was authorized in that jurisdiction without a license.

**Note**: If you are relying upon time employed as a judicial law clerk, only list the time during which you were licensed to practice law in some jurisdiction.

5. Sum total of the time you rely upon to meet the 5-year practice and/or teaching of law requirement in Article II, Rule 2(a) (i.e., 6 years, 2 months, 15 days).