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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND JUDICIARY 
 

SUPREME COURT 

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF STATE COURTS 

FINANCE AND BUDGET OFFICE  
 

Procedure for Requesting an Appeal Transcript 

 
 The policy and the procedures identified below govern the process of requesting typewritten 
transcripts from all court reporters within the Rhode Island Judiciary (Judiciary).  This policy 
shall apply to appeal transcripts requested by government agencies, court appointed attorneys, 

private attorneys, and/or members of the public. 
 
How to Request an Appeal Transcript:   
 

• A requesting party who is a Registered User of the Judiciary’s Electronic Filing System 
(EFS) may submit a Request for Transcript electronically through the EFS.  The Request 
for Transcript form is located on the Judiciary’s website at www.courts.ri.gov under the 
heading of Forms for each court.  Handwritten forms must be legible.  

 

• A requesting party who is not a Registered User may submit a Request for Transcript in  
hard copy form either in person or by first class mail to the appropriate office as 
identified by court and location in the Exhibit A attached hereto.   

 

• All State of Rhode Island agency requests shall include a signature of the chief financial 
officer and the RIFAN account number to be charged for the cost of the transcript.  If 

either the signature of the chief financial officer or the RIFAN account number is 
missing, the Request for Transcript form will be returned.  
 

• If the fee for a transcript is waived, a signed court order must be submitted with the 

Request for Transcript.   
 

• Note:  A requesting party seeking a waiver of transcript fees shall attach documentation, 
such as a signed court order, in support of such request with the Request for Transcript. 

 
Transcript Estimate: 
 

• A requesting party will receive a Transcript Estimate by the method designated on the 

Request for Transcript form notifying the requesting party as to the estimated cost for the 
requested transcript. 
 

• The costs of transcripts are governed by state law and shall be three dollars ($3.00) per 
page for originals and one dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) per page for copies.   See G.L. 
1956 § 8-5-5, § 8-10-37, and § 28-35-28.1.  
 

 
 

http://www.courts.ri.gov/
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Payment: 
 

• Requesting parties will be required to pay the full amount of the estimated cost for the 

appeal transcript before the transcript will be generated by the court reporter. 
 

• Payments will be taken at the court clerk’s office from which the proceedings to be 

transcribed took place and can be either mailed or paid in person.  Whether mailing the 
payment or paying in person, please attach a copy of the Transcript Estimate.  Exhibit A 
attached hereto contains the appropriate office as identified by court and location  
responsible for the oversight of transcript requests and payments.   

 

• Acceptable forms of payment are as follows: Cash; check (Family Court will only accept 
certified checks and client account checks); credit card; and money order.   
 

• Upon completion of the transcript by the court reporter, the requesting party will receive 
a Transcript Invoice for the transcript.  The requesting party will receive a Transcript 
Invoice by the method designated on the Request for an Appeal Transcript.   

 

• A requesting party will be required to either submit supplemental payment or will receive 
a refund if the estimated amount was greater than the actual cost to produce the transcript. 

 

Transcript Completion:  
 

• The appeal transcript will be docketed on the lower court case and will be accessible on 
the Rhode Island Judiciary Public Portal.  

 

Cancellation of a Request for Transcript: 

 

• All cancellations of a Request for an Appeal Transcript must be in writing and sent to the 
office listed in Exhibit A. 

 

• The requesting party will be charged for any pages completed by the court reporter prior 
to the written notice of cancellation.  
 

• If the transcript has not been started, the requesting party would receive a full refund of 
the requesting party’s deposit.  
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EXHIBIT A  

LIST OF CONTACTS BY COURT  

 

Superior Court  
 
The contact information for all the Superior Court courthouses is as follows: 
 

Licht Judicial Complex  
250 Benefit Street  
Room 506 
Providence, Rhode Island  02903-2719  

Telephone: (401) 222-3215 
 

Family Court 
 

The contact information for all the Family Court courthouses is as follows: 

 
Garrahy Judicial Complex  
One Dorrance Plaza  
Room 387 

Providence, Rhode Island  02903-2719  
Telephone: (401) 458-5070 

 
Workers’ Compensation Court  

 
Garrahy Judicial Complex  
Attention: Stenographer’s Office 
One Dorrance Plaza  

Providence, Rhode Island  02903-2719  
Telephone: (401) 458-3447 


